Need Motivation? Yes Please

chairs2Chairs4 Chair 1

These chairs have been sitting in my laundry/storage room since October, staring at me every time I put a load of laundry in. They are an intimidating pair of chairs. They need a complete overhaul with new cushions, fabric and a fresh coat of paint. And did you see all of the piping? I may be a master of piping now ( I say laughing), but even looking at this piping makes me feel overwhelmed. Have you ever had a project you just couldn’t get yourself to start? I am in some serious need of motivation!

There are a couple of ways I like to get myself motivated. The first is a good old basic list. If I write out what I have to do it seems less overwhelming and I like the instant gratification I get after checking one item off the list. I write down everything even if it seems silly. Like, bring the chairs upstairs and blog about them…CHECK. I already feel more motivated. HA!

Another way I get motivated is looking for inspiration so I can truly visualize the end result and get excited for the finished project. Check out these fab chairs that have inspired me so far. Each one has a unique color or upholstery that really makes me want to work on these beauties now.

I am head over heels for this kelly green and cream. I would love this whole picture to be from a corner in my house.

Screen Shot 2013-02-25 at 2.33.11 PM

From Vintagerevivals.blogspot.com

Who doesn’t think about grey and yellow right now. Plus I just found a similar fabric to this chair for $7.48 a yard. Not bad, right?

Screen Shot 2013-02-25 at 1.21.54 PM

From HGTV.com

I would like to add more accents of orange in my house. This orange on the chairs would be eye catching and really make a statement in a room.

Screen Shot 2013-02-25 at 1.18.02 PM

From apartmenttherapy.com

It is hard to go wrong with cream and grey. I have been eyeing a grey chipper fabric for awhile. This is a tempting option for me.

Screen Shot 2013-02-26 at 4.06.44 PM

From Decorpad.com

I do love vintage things. I can’t help but be drawn to this idea.

Screen Shot 2013-02-25 at 1.20.38 PM

From HGTV.com

These chairs have a warm neutral color palette. I like the idea of keeping the chair neutral and adding a different pattern or a pop of color in an adorable pillow.

Screen Shot 2013-02-25 at 1.24.03 PM

From Younghouselove.com

Alright Moxies, I am feeling pretty motivated. Now all I have to do is narrow down the direction I want go and get moving. Stay tuned for the finished project very SOON!

lindsay_small

2 thoughts on “Need Motivation? Yes Please

  1. Hi ladies! I vote for an emerald green paint with a textured natural/cream colored fabric. Oh, and maybe add a little pillow with a pink floral pattern for spring:)

Leave a Reply

