Jute Wrapped Table

So, a couple months ago I hinted that I was working on a small project involving a side table. I thought it was about time I gave you the low-down on what I actually did. So here’s what she started out as, a cheap-o $15 side table from Target. (I don’t think they sell it anymore, otherwise I’d link it up for you).

It started off looking just like this, with the espresso finish. About a year and a half ago, I decided to use it in my son’s room as a nightstand, so it got a coat of white paint.

Fast forward to a couple months ago and I’m looking at this little vignette I had going on in a corner of my living room. I brought this chair back to life with some spray paint (I know, crazy!) but it needed something else.

Moxie_pillows_chair_2I knew that buying a new side table wasn’t in the budget, so I had to get creative and figure out what I could use that I already owned, so I took a little shopping trip down to my basement. You just never know what kind of treasures you might find down there! I found a small 3 drawer stand that would work perfectly for my son’s new nightstand, and although it’s scratched and in desperate need of re-finishing, he was inexplicably hyped about it. What is with kids getting excited about something different, whether it’s old or new? What a minute, I wonder where he gets that trait from…oh yeah, from his change-obsessed mother! Just ask my husband and his (sometimes) unending patience with my desire to change things a lot. I can’t help it, it’s the designer/collector/thrifter/lover of weird things in me. I blame my Dad, he’s the same way.

Ok, I’m officially off-topic. Back to wrapping things with rope…Because this little table has nice round curves, I thought it would be the perfect candidate for some rope-wrappin’. I originally thought about painting it, because that is typically my go-to, but I just couldn’t decide on a color, so I figured that was my subconcious telling me NOT to paint it, so I decided introducing some texture would be a nice play in that particular corner.

Moxie_pillows_chair_3I started wrapping each leg at the bottom, and secured it with hot glue every few wraps. I finished each leg before moving onto the top. For wrapping the top, I used the outside of the circular top for my guide. I made a complete circle and cut it off, securing every 6″ or so with hot glue. I kept going on to the inside, making concentric circles.

Jute_tableThe outside edges also needed to be covered and I found that 3 rows of rope was enough to get that done.

Jute table_zoomSo what do you guys think? I love how this turned out and I found I was right…the room just needed a little bit of texture. I like it so much that I’ve started eyeing other things around my house….hmm, what else could I wrap in jute or twine?? The best part is the price. I used about 2 rolls of jute and at $10 each, this table upgrade came in right around $20. Just what this little area of my living room needed? Have any of you done a quick makeover like this? If so, link it up in the comments, we’d love to check it out!

megan small

Leave a Reply

