Green Monster Table Brought New Life

I thought this table transformation would be a perfect Halloween post. It literally looks like a monster. Green with drippy paint all over and a lot of sticky mystery goo. Despite its ugly appearance, I knew it had potential to make a great sewing table. I have been in desperate need for a place to cut out fabric and for a place to leave my sewing machine out. I am beyond excited for this table, but I knew it would take a lot of elbow grease.

Screen Shot 2013-10-30 at 10.05.43 PM

The first step in this transformation was to begin stripping the paint off. It is a lengthy process, but really rewarding seeing what is underneath all of the paint. Dare I say it…I love stripping!! Insert uncomfortable giggles here. I had to do 2 rounds of the Ctiristrip and then a round of mineral spirits to get the paint off.

Screen Shot 2013-10-30 at 9.06.26 PM

From here it was time to sand, sand and then sand some more.Screen Shot 2013-10-30 at 5.05.04 PM

Finally the prepping was done! I painted the entire bottom portion dark brown because I wanted brown to come through where I distressed not the green. Next, I stained the top, which is by far the most rewarding part of this project. Can you start to see the loveliness?

Screen Shot 2013-10-30 at 5.01.48 PM

I decided to paint this table Valspars Fabulous Red. It is the same color I have done for a few other projects, but none of them have been for me. It is my turn to have some fabulousness in my house, right?

Now that the table was all painted, it was time to put the finishing touches on. I added casters on the bottom to give the table a little more height and to make it easy to move around. We use the office/craft room for a lot of different things so it will be nice to be able to move it out of the way when necessary.

Screen Shot 2013-10-30 at 10.09.50 PM

After a few coats of poly brushed on the top, this table is done and officially brought new life. I couldn’t be more thrilled with the result. Bring on the sewing projects!!

Crafting Table chair caster crafting table_angle 2 wood top of crafting table

Thanks for stopping by to check out my table transformation. Happy Halloween, Moxies!

lindsay

2 thoughts on “Green Monster Table Brought New Life

Leave a Reply

