Fab Friday | Toy Storage

Fab Fridays

As the holidays approach, I can’t help but think about all the toys that will be coming into our house. My kids are very blessed with the gifts they are given and I am not exactly a toy minimalist, but there does need to be a little order to all the toys otherwise I might just go insane.

1

Minimizing the amount of toys is a great idea to get some control over the toy chaos. I like this post by Loving Marshall she shares a checklist that she used while she was purging her sons toys. I like the idea of setting up some rules ahead of time. I am very good at convincing myself why I should keep something.

Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 9.11.03 PM

number-2

Where to store the toys once the collection has been slimed down? I personally like toy storage that is both stylish and functional. I also have found that I like storage with different sizes of containers to accomodate the different toy sizes. I get several request throughout my day to find the smallest toy you can imagine.  They are much easier to find when they are in small containers.

These totes I found on Etsy here.

Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 9.31.17 PM

These cute storage baskets I found on The Land of Nod

Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 9.30.08 PM

I love the choices of colors these wire basket come in. Also found at The Land of Nod

Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 9.28.43 PM

number3

When I know that I am going to purchase something that will get used and abused I don’t want to spend a lot on it. I Love this idea to repurpose some crates from the Cozy Cottage Cute. You could also use old drawers on casters.

Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 9.38.38 PM

I thought this idea to use embroidery hoops from Always A Project was cute. I could see them in a larger scale holding toys!

Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 9.47.46 PM

number4

If you are like me, even after you purge some toys there are still more toys then what fits in a few totes. I really like the storage systems that have a lot of cubbies to put totes or baskets in.

Love this storage idea featured on Young House Love. Stylish totes to hold the toys and shelving for all the books. Perfect!

Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 11.00.07 PM

This toy room on BHG is a dream room of organization and it is stunning too.

Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 11.28.05 PM

Let me know if you have any great toy storage ideas or helpful hints to stay on top of the toy chaos. I would love to hear them! Have a great weekend, Moxies!

lindsay

2 thoughts on “Fab Friday | Toy Storage

    • For rugs I have been drooling over these rugs at http://www.flor.com/shop-categories. I think it would be fun to mix up the squares with different colors and a texture that is the same. My boys would think it was fun to pretend each different square was a different field. Plus I like the idea that if one square got a stain on it I could replace it. I will let you know if I run into any kid height tables. Even though I would never buy one because they are pricey. Pottery Barn kids has some neat play tables for inspiration. I like the tables with the roles of paper that are attached to the table. Maybe you could cut legs down on a small table or utilize an old coffee table? I bet you could come up with something pretty crafty!

Leave a Reply

