The Christmas Tree Hunt

One of my most memorable moments preparing for Christmas when I was young was going to a tree farm and hunting for the perfect Christmas tree. I loved this family tradition growing up and it is a tradition I want to pass down to my kids. I hope they enjoy it as much as I used to. I still get excited for the hunt!
The Tree Hunt_1

It was a dreary day, but we couldn’t have asked for better weather temperature wise. The tree farm is about as deep into the country as it gets. Literally in the middle of nowhere. And it is beautiful! I wish my picture would have captured it better.

The Tree Hunt_2

The boys were running around everywhere chasing each other while the hubs and I scoped out the trees. I am happy that this was a completely appropriate time for them to be crazy! Although it was hard to focus on finding a tree, they were too much fun to watch.

The Tree Hunt_5After a lot of searching, we found the perfect Christmas tree.

Tree Hunt_6

Any guesses what my husband was saying here? Like…”I can’t wait to cut this tree down, Lindsay. This is so much fun!” Or…”wow, you did such a good job picking out this tree.” Let’s just pretend he said that.

Tree Hunt_7

And below is the reason most would prefer to buy a fake tree from the store or a pre cut tree. Props to my husband for how quickly he gets this part done! We would probably still be there if I were doing it.

Tree Cutting

I did at least carry the saw! Tree found

Now the fun part! We head to the the shack to eat some cookies and hot chocolate and of course buy the tree. We did have to pause to watch the tree getting a massage (as my boys put it.) Their faces were priceless.

Tree shaking

Time to eat cookies!

Cookie

Hunting and finding the perfect tree are memories I will never forget and I hope that I am creating lasting memories for my kids as well. Thanks Moxies for stopping to read a little bit about my little family and one of our Christmas traditions. What are some of your Christmas traditions?

Make sure you stay tuned this week for Feature Friday! I am featuring one of my friends Emily. She is one talented lady. You don’t want to miss it!

lindsay

One thought on “The Christmas Tree Hunt

Leave a Reply

