FEATURE FRIDAY|Bedroom Revamp! FINALLY!| With Holly

Screen Shot 2013-10-31 at 9.27.51 PMIt is Feature Friday again! Today I asked Holly to come back and share her master bedroom update. I love Holly’s creativeness, and she always has simple inexpensive ideas on how to add some style to a room. Wait until you see what she did to her floor!

r20140228_112800

Hey Moxie readers! Anyone out there have a room in their home where if you can’t find a place to put something it gets thrown in this room? You know, the one whose door gets shut when company comes over. The one who shall not be named. The one you avoid at all cost. That is what my poor bedroom turned into:( FOR ALMOST 4 YEARS!!!! How depressing, right? This last fall I was finally able to get the ball rolling!

It all started with the moving of our home, yes, we actually picked up our home and moved it. We added an attached garage with a bonus room up above which connected to my sons room upstairs. We took out one of his windows and put a door there so you could get out to the bonus room, which we weren’t exactly sure what we wanted to do with. Fast forward a year and a half, we decide to switch rooms with our son so that with the arrival of our 3rd child they could share a room and they were going to need the room that was a little larger. Then a light bulb went off and I say “let’s extend our room out to the bonus room part way and the other part can be storage”. Did I mention our home is an old two story with tiny bedrooms upstairs and no closets. In the back of my head I am thinking Yay, we can finally have a closet. Fast forward four years, no extended bedroom or closet and the room is now a dumping ground of stuff and folded piles of laundry everywhere with a narrow path to the bed. After years of pleading I finally gave him a few ultimatums, one being no hunting this year until the room is done and the other he may not be happy with me discussing with you;) I know it may not be right but it HAD to be done and to my surprise in a few short weeks we got it done. Yay! Here are a few photos of the process .

SAMSUNG

This is just after starting, he widened the doorway (I wanted it a little wider, but something about blah! blah! blah! load bearing wall blah! blah! blah!) and painting trim.

SAMSUNG

Finishing up some drywall.

SAMSUNG

Some friends came to visit:)

SAMSUNG

Putting in the carpet.

SAMSUNG

Carpet.

SAMSUNG

Carpet.

SAMSUNG

The old part of the room with horrible blue carpet.

SAMSUNG

Good bye blue carpet!

SAMSUNG

removing staples, which somehow turned into my job and after I removed about a fourth of them and then asked him for help he decided to just hammer them in:/ that would have been good information 500 staples ago! I planned on painting the floor and didn’t want a bunch of hammer dents all over but it actually didn’t damage the floor as bad as I thought it would so that’s what we did. I like doing things as nice as I can but also as easy as I can.

SAMSUNG

I painted it a light grey and wanted to get a stencil to put over it and for some reason we couldn’t get to town that day but I couldn’t wait so I decided to make my own. I wanted a simple design and figured I probably won’t find anything I like at the store anyway. I found an old tote lid and made my own.

k20140228_112742

This is the design I came up with.

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

The stencil is not white but a really light grey.

n20140228_112702

o20140228_112854

Found some new dressers on craigslist, love! love! love!

p20140228_113653

q20140228_113027

Still doing some decorating, just trying to grab a couple things each time I go into town.

s20140228_113325

View from the old room down to the new room. Hard to tell but there is a step that goes down to the new part. I was also thinking about putting some barn style sliding doors here.

t20140228_113622

Don’t mind my husbands clothes, after almost 10 years of marriage he’s still not sure how to get them in the dresser:) This spot goes back into the closet.

u20140228_113520

Again, don’t mind the totes. Also, I am trying to figure out a way to get the gun cabinet moved somewhere else.

SAMSUNG

The closet, no place to hang clothes yet, but I am just so excited to have a bedroom that I am not complaining to much!

w20140228_113419

View from the new part to the old part.

Their are a few more things I need to do, a little more decorating, new light fixtures and I want to paint the doors a dark walnut color. Thanks for checking out my new bedroom, hope you enjoyed it as much as I do!!!

holly

Thanks, Holly for sharing your revamp. It turned out really lovely! I can’t get over the floor, LOVE! If you need some more stenciling floor ideas, Holly shared them back in a post here. Have a good weekend, Moxies!

One thought on “FEATURE FRIDAY|Bedroom Revamp! FINALLY!| With Holly

Leave a Reply

