The Perfect Project For Scrap Fabric

Ottoman Pouf update

For those of you that know me, It is probably not a surprise that I have A LOT of scrap fabric. I have been trying to come up with a good project to utilize some of it, but I just could not come up with anything outstanding. A photographer approached me about making a patchwork ottoman pouf and I instantly thought of all the fabric I had. What a perfect project for me!

Disclaimer: As I have mentioned in other posts. I don’t claim to be a professional seamstress. My hope in sharing my sewing projects is that they are easy to understand for a beginner. If you are a professional seamstress feel free to share some tips you have! Please!

What you will need:
Scrap fabric in several patterns and colors, freezer paper or wrapping paper (to use as a pattern), thread, scissors, pins and batting or something to fill your poof with.

The first thing thing I did was cut out a bunch of 4×4 inch squares out of various fabrics. I created a pattern using grid wrapping paper (you could use freezer paper too) My fabric is all odd sizes since they are scrap pieces, so I found a pattern extra helpful. Next I laid out the squares to get a visual of how big I wanted to make the poof and exactly how many different fabric patterns I wanted to use. Most commonly they are made as a cube, but the one I am creating is more rectangular. Or from what I just learned on Wikipedia, a cuboid. Two sides are squares and four sides are rectangles, so the opposite sides are equal. From all the Team Umizoomi I watch, I really should have known this.

I ended up doing 8 4×4 inch squares for the length and width. For the height I decided to do 3 4×4 inch squares high. (keep in mind that the size will be a little smaller once you sew it together when you add in your seam allowance)

Now that you have your size figured out and how many different fabric patterns you want to use, it is time to start sewing. I started by sewing 8 squares in a row, creating one row at a time. Then as shown in picture 3, I sewed each line together.

Ottoman Poof_steps

When you are finished sewing each line together you should have a square for your top piece and 4 rectangles for your side pieces. My top piece is 8 squares by 8 squares. My side pieces are 8 squares by 3 squares. I used a solidish fabric for my bottom since you won’t see it anyway.

Next take your side pieces and sew them together making one large line. Mine will have 32 squares sewn together. (The picture below will be sewn together one more time)

Ottoman Poof_pieces

You should have all your pieces at this point, top bottom and sides. Now it is time to pin it into shape. I used a handsome model to help show how this is done. No bribes necessary!

Boy showing  pieces pinned Boy showing pinning

At this point you should have it all inside out and you should be able to tell what it will look like when it is finished. Mine is sort of a deflated looking cuboid. I unfortunately don’t have any pictures showing anymore steps. I will blame it on Iowa State for taking my interest away from my pouf. Can I get a shout out for the CYCLONES! Big Twelve Tournament Champs! GO STATE! Anyway….I will do my best to explain the rest. It should really be easy from here.

Sew along your seams that are pinned and leave an opening (for stuffing your batting in). Pull your fabric through your opening and bring it all right side out. Stuff it with your batting. Finally just pin up the small opening and sew it up. I sewed mine by hand, but if you can get it under your sewing machine go for it!

And that is it! Can’t you just picture an adorable picture with a naked baby all curled up on it. I am anxious to see how it works out for the photographer I made this for.

Poof1 Poof

And here is one more handsome model for you. I did actually have to bribe this one with a sucker. STINKER… but a cute one.

Boy on poof

Let me know what you think. Comments always make my day, don’t be shy! Have a great rest of the week, Moxies.
signature

5 thoughts on “The Perfect Project For Scrap Fabric

  1. This is a great project to do with fabric scraps! I typically have the habit of saving fabric because I think I am going to use it for another project, but never end up doing anything with it. Now I have an excuse and I can’t wait to try making this! Thanks for a great project idea and it was really easy to follow. It is ironic that I recently posted a project tutorial for fabric beads using fabric scraps. http://environmentalfashionistamk.blogspot.com/2014/02/from-fabric-scraps-to-fabric-beads.html
    Excellent job! I look forward to reading more of your posts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

