Style Board Challenge; Vintage and Modern Living Room

I am bringing to you another mood board this monday! I was contacted by Chairish.com to be a part of a style board challenge. My task was to come up with a style board using some of their vintage home furnishings. Below are the furniture pieces I chose to use in a living room space. Chairish.com has exceptional and unique home furnishings from all eras and styles. I spent hours browsing through the site. I promise I wouldn’t share if I didn’t think you all would LOVE IT!

Chairish furniture

If you are a regular follower, you are probably familiar with how I like to design my spaces using vintage and modern home furnishings. And this mood board was no different. I like to contrast the curvy lines that you see in the arms of the vintage tufted couch and on top of the brassy gold lamp with modern straight lines that you see in the Art Deco dresser. I also use big bold geometric patterns with the rug and wallpaper to bring in more modern flair. In case you can’t see the pattern here is a zoomed in view of the wallpaper.

Screen Shot 2014-11-01 at 10.30.06 PM

vintage modern living room

The color palette was inspired from this fabric I found on fabric.com. I have been waiting for a room design to use navy and coral in. Once I saw this fabric with the mustard yellow combined with the navy and pinky tones, I knew it would be a stunning combo.

Screen Shot 2014-11-01 at 9.46.30 PM

For the walls, the overall color would be a soft creamy color. When there is a lot of color going on in a space, I like to keep the walls soft.  I used a wallpaper accent wall to add some depth. My vision would be for it to be in a nook where there could be a little bar area.

I like the idea of using a dresser as a mini bar. It brings unique character to the space verses using your typical box store looking cabinet. The Art Deco dresser not only has character, but adds some much needed earthy tones in. With the couch and chairs being more colorful, I felt the rest of the furniture in the space needed to be a little more neutral.

Okay, I am kind of obsessed with pillows. It truly drives my hubby crazy, but it is the easiest way to splash some color around the living room. I haven’t shopped on One Kings Lane very often for pillows, but I found some amazing choices there. My fav is the Zodiac sign pillow. And if you can’t tell the coral pillows have little poms in the corners. LOVE!

Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 3.14.43 PM Screen Shot 2014-11-01 at 10.39.28 PM

Using vintage furniture in a space adds such character and uniqueness that you can’t find at your typical home furnishings store. It is fun to think I have a one of a kind furniture piece that not many others have in their house. This was a really fun challenge and I would love to know what you all think!

Thanks for stopping by!

signature

Leave a Reply

